jump to navigation

In which I use new projects January 21, 2011

Posted by Rich in server, work.
1 comment so far

At work, I’ve been working on debugging some C code for the past few weeks.  It’s been a tedious task, but I’ve been greatly aided by some various tools:

  • vim for all file editing
  • gcc for compilations
  • make for managing the build dependencies and such
  • gdb for debugging the running process

Yes, it seems I eschew IDE’s.  I’ve recently happened upon git, which is a fantastic version-control system.  I’m just learning the basics now, but it should help immensely, not just for the occasional coding I do for work, but also for managing the documents I write using LaTeX.

In a related vein, I happened upon redmine, a project tracking system.  I just installed it to my home server and am trying it out.  I already have apache and mysql installed, so it was a simple matter of installing ruby on rails with redmine running on top.  I also tried syncing over a git repository there, everything works quite well.

At any rate, it’s exciting to use all of these free (in both senses of the word) tools to hopefully improve my work!